Skip to content

Getting A Job: The Old Fashioned Way

January 29, 2009

I thought I should share a little about my career path. I am a recent college graduate and just got my first real job. If you had told me how I would get this job I would have laughed at you while I was in school.

Last fall in September I entered a competition to become a spokesperson for Young Free Texas. They offered a job for a year and some really cool swag. I figured at the very least if I could win it would buy me a year to find something more concrete. Well, on a whim I entered and found out a few weeks later that I had made the final 3. For two weeks I campaigned and ended up losing, but was offered a job with the company holding the competition. The whole experience had turned into a two week interview and I am now their online community coordinator.

This is an amazing job, and I enjoy going to work everyday. I am exploring a completely new field and trying to figure out how to best help my company interact with members online. The point of this story is to say that you never know where or how you might find your next job. In this economy everyone talks about how there is nothing out there, but at the same time you have to take risks and go out on a limb.

I applied for a job that I didn’t think I would get. I had no idea how I would do in a competition. It turns out not very well, but it still worked out for me. So in these trying times stick to the tried and true formulas to get a job, but also don’t be afraid to click on those links you see next to your facebook talking about how to get a dream job. (That’s actually how I found out about the competition.) So if you are a recent graduate or recently laid off I would say try anything and be willing to be yourself out there. I had six months of failed attempts, but when one of my crazier efforts paid off. It paid off in a big way.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 11:40 pm

    Great post Jason. I have to disagree with one thing though. You did awesome in the competition!

Leave a Reply

